MEMORANDUM NO. 98-12
|TO:||Commissioners, District Administrators, Self-Insureds, Insurance Carriers, Attorneys, Unions, and Advisory Board Members|
|FROM:||Jesse M. Frankl, Chairman|
|DATE:||September 10, 1998|
|RE:||Average Weekly Wage, Maximum Compensation Rate, and Cost-of-Living Adjustments|
Section 31-309 of the Connecticut General Statutes as amended by Public Act 93-228 now sets the maximum weekly compensation rate to be the same as the average weekly earnings of all employees in Connecticut. This maximum rate applies to total disability benefits provided in Sec. 31-307 and decedent’s dependents benefits provided in Sec. 31-306.
The State Labor Commissioner has determined that the average weekly earnings of all employees in Connecticut effective October 1, 1998 is $764.00. Therefore, the maximum compensation rate for total disability and decedent’s dependents is also $764.00 for injuries occurring on or after October 1, 1998.
The maximum compensation rate for partial disability (incapacity), i.e., benefits pursuant to Sec. 31-308, is the same as the average weekly earnings of production and related workers in manufacturing in Connecticut. The State Labor Commissioner has determined that the average weekly earnings of production and related workers in manufacturing in Connecticut effective October 1, 1998 is $628.00.
I believe this information will assist you in the calculation of cost-of-living adjustments.
[NOTE: Please see the 1998 Cost-of-Living Adjustment (COLA) Calculations & Tables on this site for detailed instructions for calculating COLAs, along with an updated table for 1998.]
State of Connecticut
Workers' Compensation Commission
Page last revised: October 27, 1998
Page URL: http://wcc.state.ct.us/memos/1998/98-12.htm